Share |

Ask the Rules Guy: Can I Peek Into My Opponent's Bag to See Which Club He Used?

By Rules Guy
June 26, 2013; 1:00 PM ET

Rules Guy: Can I peek into my opponent's bag to see which club he used?

-Dana Jensen, New Orleans, La.

You can look, just don't touch. Decision 8-1/10 states that information obtained by observation is not a breach of Rule 8-1, but Decision 8-1/11 prohibits a player from obtaining such information by a physical act, such as removing a towel to see a club.

Credit: Don Penny

MR. FIX-IT

Hey, Rules Guy: I know you aren't allowed to reconfigure adjustable clubs during a round. But if a weight loosens in the course of play, can you tighten it? Or must you live with the rattle until the round is finished?

-Bob Horning, via e-mail

Adjustable clubheads still boggle my mind. I remember the days when you needed a hammer and chisel to tweak a driver. Yes, Bob, the Rules of Golf do permit you to tighten a weight mid-round, assuming the weight was loosened during the "normal course of play"-i.e., not as a result of intentional smashing, hurling, snapping, etc. Rule 4-3a gives you three options: (1) Keep using the club as is; (2) Fix it, assuming you can do so quickly; or (3) Replace it, assuming the club can't be played or fixed. So break out your toolbox and get to work. Just don't dawdle.

Continue Reading on Golf.com >

The views expressed are those of the author and not necessarily those of AccuWeather, Inc. or AccuWeather.com

Comments

Comments left here should adhere to the AccuWeather.com Community Guidelines. Profanity, personal attacks, and spam will not be tolerated.