Joe Lundberg

Hometown: Ledyard, Conn.

Education: B.S. Meteorology, The Pennsylvania State University, 1983 Employed at AccuWeather since 1990

I've loved the weather since third grade, and by my junior year in high school, I knew for certain I wanted to pursue a degree in meteorology and a career in weather and forecasting. Little did I know that my dreams of becoming a local television meteorologist would turn into opportunities to be heard, read and seen all across the country, even around the world! I love the challenges of forecasting and trying to explain things to a listening, viewing or reading audience in such a way that they not only understand the weather, but so they can make good use of the information in their daily lives.

Outside of AccuWeather, I've become an avid cyclist in recent years, having eclipsed 11,000 miles in 2010! I enjoy leading rides every Tuesday evening with a fast-growing group of cycling enthusiasts of all ages and abilities, with three common goals: get exercise, get fit and have fun doing it! It has helped me shed over 60 pounds in recent years, and I'm eager to stretch myself to do more and lose just a little bit more! I'm looking forward to entering a couple of races and triathlons, just to see what I can do that I never thought possible. I also love to sing and lead worship at our church, and I will still play a few rounds of golf or an occasional softball game or two.

What made you choose weather/meteorology/broadcasting as a career?
A 3rd grade friend and John Ghiorge
Weirdest job you've ever held?
Running a farmer's market
Favorite sports team?
Boston Red Sox
Right or left handed?
Depends – mostly righty, but I have been left-handed
Song you hate the most?
"Killing Me Softly" by Roberta Flack
Any superstitions you believe/practice?
No
Favorite/most addictive form of social media?
None
Coffee or Tea?
Tea
Favorite age you have been so far?
40
Your current desktop picture?
Ocean
Favorite Season?
Summer
PC or MAC?
MAC
What would I find in your refrigerator right now?
Leftovers!
One meal for the rest of your life – what would it be?
Lasagna, bread, corn, salad
Hobbies / Special Interests / If Golf, what's your Handicap?
Cycling, triathlons, golf (probably 18 or 20)
Favorite place to vacation?
By the water

More Joe Lundberg