, °F

Personalized Forecasts

Featured Forecast

My Favorite Forecasts

    My Recent Locations

    Rory McIlroy Wins U.S. Golf Writers' Player of the Year Award

    By Samantha-Rae Tuthill, AccuWeather staff writer
    May 06, 2013, 4:57:36 AM EDT

    HOUSTON (AP) -- Rory McIlroy is the near unanimous choice as the best male player by the Golf Writers Association of America.


    McIlroy received 190 out of the 194 votes cast by GWAA members. Three votes went to FedEx Cup champion Brandt Snedeker, and the other went to Tiger Woods. McIlroy previously won player of the year awards from the PGA Tour, European Tour, PGA of America and British-based Association of Golf Writers.

    The GWAA said Wednesday that Stacy Lewis was voted best female player with 79 percent of the vote, while double major winner Roger Chapman won the senior player award with 60 percent of the vote.

    This is the fourth time in the last five years that the GWAA award has gone to a European player.

    Read more: http://www.golf.com/ap-news/mcilroy-wins-us-golf-writers-award#ixzz2GYRVSlW6

    Report a Typo

    Continue Reading on Golf.com >


    Comments that don't add to the conversation may be automatically or manually removed by Facebook or AccuWeather. Profanity, personal attacks, and spam will not be tolerated.

    More Weather News